skip navigation
Home News

District 202 Board honors 18 excellent education staff and community members


The District 202 Board of Education honored 18 exceptional educational staff and community members at its 30th annual Awards of Excellence Ceremony Wednesday, April 27, 2022, held at Plainfield South High School.

The Awards of Excellence honor teachers and non-administrative staff who have significantly impacted their students, schools, and the community. The Board will present 15 Awards of Excellence to district staff this year.

A committee of three Board members and the Board’s two community ambassadors picks the Awards of Excellence winners from nominations from students, staff, and parents. The Board of Education has honored 481 individuals since the Award’s inception in 1993.

“The Board of Education is very proud of all of our staff and the tremendous work they do every day, every year, to serve our students and families,” said Board of Education Vice President Rod Westfall, chairperson of the Board’s recognition committee.

“But we are especially proud and grateful for our staff after the last two years, given the incredible challenges created by the pandemic to lead and support our students and families,” Westfall said.

Central Elementary School Social Worker Shannon Edmondson received the 7th annual Cheryl Ricciardi Exceptional Student Service Award.

The Board also presented the Elizabeth “Bess” Eichelberger award to District Technology Director Margie Bonuchi to recognize her significant service to District 202.

The Board also presented the Richard Ira Jones award to businessman and community volunteer Steve Fry, to recognize his significant service to District 202.

Finally, the Board presented the inaugural Lane Abrell Administrative Excellence award to its namesake, current Superintendent of Schools Dr. Lane Abrell, citing his more than 20 years of leadership, including nine years as assistant principal and principal at Plainfield High School.

The 2022 Awards of Excellence winners are:

  • Erin Ambre -- Drauden Point Middle School 7th/8th grade social studies teacher
  • Lisa Bulthuis – PNHS special education teacher
  • Joshua Clifford – PNHS custodian
  • Shelby Donaghey -- Eichelberger Elementary School 3rd grade teacher
  • Katherine Fairfield – PEHS social studies and English teacher
  • Sandy Figueroa -- Creekside Elementary School kindergarten/bilingual teacher
  • Stacey Grobstein -- Freedom Elementary School 4th grade teacher
  • Oralia Guzman -- District Office/Curriculum and Instruction Dept. District Translator Coordinator/Family Liaison
  • Kelsey Haywood -- Charles Reed Elementary School speech teacher
  • Ali Kordelewski – PEHS choir director
  • Toni Lowery – PSHS World Language/Spanish/French teacher
  • Russell Moore -- District Office/Technology Dept. network administrator
  • Diana Villalvazo  -- District Office/English Language Learner Dept. administrative assistant
  • Kimberly Wayne -- Ira Jones Middle School 6th grade Language Arts teacher
  • Paula Wisniewski -- Wesmere Elementary School Social Worker


Subscribe to our Mailing List!

Stay updated with what's happening at Wesmere Elementary School